Categories
True to Design

True to Design: What I`m Reading

What Makes a Game?: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/167418/what_makes_a_game.php 5 Myths about Giving Praise: http://www.greatleadershipbydan.com/2012/03/5-myths-about-giving-praise.html Sad But True: We Can’t Prove When Super Mario Bros. Came Out: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/167392/sad_but_true_we_cant_prove_when_.php What Game Devs Want From Next-Gen Consoles: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/167557/what_game_devs_want_from_nextgen_.php How to Handle Disengagement During Meetings: http://www.greatleadershipbydan.com/2012/03/how-to-handle-disengagement-during.html

Categories
True to Design

True to Design: What I’m Reading

Didn’t Like Ending, Please Change: http://rampantgames.com/blog/?p=3411 Do auction houses suck?: http://www.raphkoster.com/2012/03/20/do-auction-houses-suck/ How Triple-A Games Went Social and Why They’re Not Going Back: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/166479/how_triplea_games_went_social_and_.php Endings, and the rage they inspire: http://whineaboutgames.blogspot.co.uk/2012/03/endings-and-rage-they-inspire.html Who is Not Afraid of Radical Change?: http://www.greatleadershipbydan.com/2012/03/who-is-not-afraid-of-radical-change.html Smart Lenses Will Do More Than Just Improve Your Vision: http://boston.cbslocal.com/2012/02/10/smart-lenses-will-do-more-than-just-improve-your-vision/ How to Discuss a Problem with Your […]

Categories
True to Design

True to Design: What I’m Reading

GDC2012: Slides for Good, Bad, Great Design: http://www.raphkoster.com/2012/03/09/gdc2012-slides-for-good-bad-great-design/ From the Editor: 5 key takeaways from GDC 2012: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/165453/From_the_Editor_5_key_takeaways_from_GDC_2012.php “X” isn’t a game!: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/165529/whats_happening_to_kids_games.php The 5 Qualities of Remarkable Bosses: http://www.inc.com/jeff-haden/the-5-qualities-of-remarkable-bosses.html What’s an ex-indie filmmaker doing at Unity?: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/128968/Whats_an_exindie_filmmaker_doing_at_Unity.php Creating a Winning Game Industry Art Portfolio: http://gamasutra.com/view/feature/165645/creating_a_winning_game_industry_.php What’s Happening to Kids’ Games?: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/165529/whats_happening_to_kids_games.php The best game […]

Categories
True to Design

True to Design: What I’m Reading

GDC 2012: The 10 key social games of the year: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/164431/GDC_2012_The_10_key_social_games_of_the_year.php GDC 2012: Don’t be afraid to piss off your players: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/164444/GDC_2012_Dont_be_afraid_to_piss_off_your_players.php Cost of Living and what it means to video games: http://standsinfire.wordpress.com/2012/03/07/cost-of-living-and-what-it-means-to-video-games/ GDC 2012: 10 indies, 10 ways to think outside the box: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/164701/GDC_2012_10_indies_10_ways_to_think_outside_the_box.php GDC 2012: How designers can increase innovation in their games: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/164692/GDC_2012_How_designers_can_increase_innovation_in_their_games.php […]

Categories
True to Design

True to Design: What I’m Reading

Questing and the Common Man: http://standsinfire.wordpress.com/2012/02/24/questing-and-the-common-man/ Ask Gamasutra: The video games and narrative debate: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/162363/Ask_Gamasutra_The_video_games_and_narrative_debate.php Game 69: The Game of Dungeons/dnd (1975): http://crpgaddict.blogspot.com/2012/02/game-69-game-of-dungeonsdnd-1975.html 8 Qualities of Remarkable Employees: http://www.inc.com/jeff-haden/the-8-qualities-of-remarkable-employees.html?utm_source=linkedin&utm_medium=socialmedia&utm_campaign=button Unity’s Future In High-Definition: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/163215/unitys_future_in_highdefinition.php Sponsored Feature: Six Best Practices for Retooling Your Virtual Goods Payment System to Increase Conversions: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/162845/sponsored_feature_six_best_.php Using Kinect for High Adventure: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/163515/using_kinect_for_high_adventure.php […]

Categories
True to Design

True to Design: What I’m Reading

Two Lessons From Team Fortress 2: http://www.psychologyofgames.com/2012/02/two-lessons-from-team-fortress-2/ Gamification Dynamics: Identity and Story: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/6736/gamification_dynamics_identity_.php The point of races: http://www.eldergame.com/2012/02/the-point-of-races/ Opinion: Where’s that glorious transmedia future?:  http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/39972/Opinion_Wheres_that_glorious_transmedia_future.php Questions to Teach Leadership and Management: http://www.greatleadershipbydan.com/2012/02/questions-to-teach-leadership-and.html The need to be “unproductive”: http://psychochild.org/?p=1123

Categories
True to Design

True to Design: What I’m Reading

David Jaffe and the Language of Interactivity:  http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/6704/david_jaffe_and_the_language_of_.php Don’t Let the Pebbles Cover the Rocks: http://www.greatleadershipbydan.com/2012/02/dont-let-pebbles-cover-rocks.html Clones… clones everywhere!: http://psychochild.org/?p=1122 Tearing Down Barriers: How to Bring MMO Players Together: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/6710/tearing_down_barriers_how_to_.php Opinion: The principles of game monetization: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/40316/Opinion_The_principles_of_game_monetization.php Will Tablet Game Quality Soon Leapfrog Consoles?:  http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/6711/will_tablet_game_quality_soon_.php A One Man Board Game Buyer’s Guide (Part II): http://www.designer-notes.com/?p=104 […]

Categories
True to Design

True to Design: What I’m Reading

Improving MMO Level Design: http://connectedxp.com/2011/12/18/improving-mmo-level-design/ How to Find a Business Mentor Who’ll Help You Achieve Your Leadership Goals : http://www.greatleadershipbydan.com/2012/02/how-to-find-business-mentor-wholl-help.html SPONSORED FEATURE: TwitchTV – How to Build Community Around Your Game in 2012: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/6694/sponsored_feature_twitchtv__how_.php Building the World of Reckoning: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/6692/building_the_world_of_reckoning.php Self-Perception Theory and Marketing through Avatars: http://www.psychologyofgames.com/2012/02/self-perception-theory-and-marketing-through-avatars/ Jerked Around by the Magic Circle – Clearing the […]

Categories
True to Design

True to Design: What I’m Reading

Game Pitches – actual pitch docs from real games : http://t-machine.org/index.php/2012/01/30/game-pitches-actual-pitch-docs-from-real-games/ SWTOR: Encouraging Bad Habits: https://standsinfire.wordpress.com/2012/01/30/swtor-encouraging-bad-habits/ 13 years later, the original EverQuest goes free-to-play:  http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/39918/13_years_later_the_original_EverQuest_goes_freetoplay.php Opinion: The Bulldog and the Pegasus:  http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/39910/Opinion_The_Bulldog_and_the_Pegasus.php Talking Copycats with Zynga’s Design Chief: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/6687/talking_copycats_with_zyngas_.php Project Gorgon’s Death Penalty: http://www.eldergame.com/2012/02/project-gorgons-death-penalty/ Clones, Schmones: Buffalo Studios, Nimblebit’s jabs at Zynga garner publicity and not […]

Categories
True to Design

True to Design: What I’m Reading

Six Things I’m Loving About My Return To Star Trek Online: http://biobreak.wordpress.com/2012/01/24/six-things-im-loving-about-my-return-to-star-trek-online/ Playing to Win? Measuring Social Interaction in Games: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/6615/playing_to_win_measuring_social_.php An atomic theory of fun game design: http://www.raphkoster.com/2012/01/24/an-atomic-theory-of-fun-game-design/ Fun vs features: http://www.raphkoster.com/2012/01/25/fun-vs-features/ Why Appreciation Matters So Much: http://blogs.hbr.org/schwartz/2012/01/why-appreciation-matters-so-mu.html How to Get the Most Benefit from an Executive Development Program: http://www.greatleadershipbydan.com/2012/01/how-to-get-most-benefit-from-executive.html Easy Player-Made Content: http://www.eldergame.com/2012/01/easy-player-made-content/ Narrative […]