Archive

Archive for October, 2012

True to Design: What I’m Reading

October 29, 2012 Leave a comment

Funcom’s Vision for the Future of MMOs : http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/179347/funcoms_vision_for_the_future_of_.php

Online behavior: trolls still trolling trolls: http://psychochild.org/?p=1166

The Next Great Desktop Gaming Platform?http://rampantgames.com/blog/?p=5040

5 Ways to Make Sure You Don’t Fall off the Fast-track: http://www.greatleadershipbydan.com/2012/10/5-ways-to-make-sure-you-dont-fall-off.html

Leadership and Life Lessons from the Baseball Playoffs: http://eblingroup.com/2012/10/leadership-and-life-lessons-from-the-baseball-playoffs.html

Save-scumming is Perverse Optimization :http://www.thatsaterribleidea.com/2012/10/save-scumming-is-perverse-optimization.html

CastleVille: A GDC Online post-mortem: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/179332/CastleVille_A_GDC_Online_postmortem.php#.UH1iB5ZKcXI

League of Legends draws more daily players than Zynga’s biggest hits: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/179324/League_of_Legends_draws_more_daily_players_than_Zyngas_biggest_hits.php#.UH2qx5ZKcXI

The Shifting Continuum: An Arc System Works Interview: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/179257/the_shifting_continuum_an_arc_.php

When does effective free-to-play design become an ethical matter?: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/179264/When_does_effective_freetoplay_design_become_an_ethical_matter.php#.UH2t15ZKcXI

GDCOnline: UO Classic Game Postmortem: http://www.raphkoster.com/2012/10/11/gdconline-uo-classic-game-postmortem/

Tiny MMOs, Massice Opportunities: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/179175/tiny_mmos_massive_opportunities.php

User-generated content: When game players become developers: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/179493/Usergenerated_content_When_game_players_become_developers.php#.UH22g5ZKcXI

MechWarrior Online‘s unconventional crowdfunding pays off: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/179499/MechWarrior_Onlines_unconventional_crowdfunding_pays_off.php#.UH22YJZKcXI

The Free-To-Play Triangle [Game Economics] :http://www.whatgamesare.com/2012/10/the-free-to-play-triangle-game-economics.html

The Next Twenty Years: What Windows 8’s Closed Distribution Means for Developers : http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/179420/the_next_twenty_years_what_.php

This is the future of free-to-play: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/179253/This_is_the_future_of_freetoplay.php#.UH27w5ZKcXI

Interview: What’s next in game narrative, with Emily Short: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/179256/Interview_Whats_next_in_game_narrative_with_Emily_Short.php#.UH2-KZZKcXI

CCP Online’s three design pillars for sandbox MMOs: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/179176/CCP_Onlines_three_design_pillars_for_sandbox_MMOs.php#.UH3AmZZKcXI

Walk the Talk: Four Tips to be an Extraordinary Leader: http://www.greatleadershipbydan.com/2012/10/walk-talk-four-tips-to-be-extraordinary.html

Age of mobile: Ensemble founder Goodman on his new iOS battles: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/178654/Age_of_mobile_Ensemble_founder_Goodman_on_his_new_iOS_battles.php#.UH3BIpZKcXI

Respecting women players without ‘girling it up’: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/179173/Respecting_women_players_without_girling_it_up.php#.UH3BbJZKcXI

Emergent gameplay, F2P key for MMO user retention problems: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/179168/Emergent_gameplay_F2P_key_for_MMO_user_retention_problems.php#.UH3Bs5ZKcXI

Bubble Witch Saga monetizes 3 times better on iOS than on Facebook: http://www.insidesocialgames.com/2012/10/10/bubble-witch-saga-monetizes-3-times-better-on-ios-than-on-facebook/

The Sound Design of Journey : http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/179039/the_sound_design_of_journey.php

GDCOnline: A Theory of Fun, 10 Years Later:http://www.raphkoster.com/2012/10/10/gdconline-a-theory-of-fun-10-years-later/

Social players don’t want to read your text — or do they?: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/179101/Social_players_dont_want_to_read_your_text__or_do_they.php#.UH3CjJZKcXI

Building better communities: The next challenge for free-to-play: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/179098/Building_better_communities_The_next_challenge_for_freetoplay.php#.UH3Cx5ZKcXI

More variety in free-to-play is on the horizon, predicts Kongregate: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/179103/More_variety_in_freetoplay_is_on_the_horizon_predicts_Kongregate.php#.UH3DVpZKcXI

10 Social Game Lessons from 2012: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/179100/10_Social_Game_Lessons_from_2012.php#.UH3DgpZKcXI

The Technological Singularity and the Future : http://sylvainrochon.blogspot.ca/2012/10/the-technological-singularity-and-future.html

Hitting the Brick Wall near Singularity: http://sylvainrochon.blogspot.ca/2012/10/hitting-brick-wall-near-singularity.html

Making everyone feel like a star in a multiplayer game: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/179096/Making_everyone_feel_like_a_star_in_a_multiplayer_game.php#.UH3EkpZKcXI

Postmortem: Stardock Entertainment and Ironclad Games’ Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/179030/postmortem_stardock_entertainment_.php

Making Kratos More Human: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/178962/making_kratos_more_human.php:

Mobile/Social Games Are Not Safe [TechCrunch}: http://www.whatgamesare.com/2012/10/mobilesocial-games-are-not-safe-techcrunch.html

The benefits of making your players suffer (and maybe throw up): http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/178952/The_benefits_of_making_your_players_suffer_and_maybe_throw_up.php#.UH6xn5ZKcXI

Tell Facebook you want synchronous gameplay – you might get it: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/178951/Tell_Facebook_you_want_synchronous_gameplay__you_might_get_it.php#.UH6x4ZZKcXI

Don’t miss out on extra cash from R&D tax credits: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/178799/Dont_miss_out_on_extra_cash_from_RD_tax_credits.php#.UH6yMJZKcXI

Shaping the Future of Facebook as a Game Platform: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/178872/shaping_the_future_of_facebook_as_.php

Sponsored Feature: Drawing Basics and Video Game Art: Character Design: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/178656/sponsored_feature_drawing_basics_.php

The State of the Vita, 2012 : http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/178802/the_state_of_the_vita_2012.php

Rapid Prototyping: Tips for Running an Effective R&D Process: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/179501/rapid_prototyping_tips_for_.php

Purpose Must be a Priority: http://www.greatleadershipbydan.com/2012/10/purpose-must-be-priority.html

You Don’t Need to Solve for 100%: http://eblingroup.com/2012/10/dont-need-to-solve-for-100-percent.html

Persuasive Games: Words With Friends Forever: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/178658/persuasive_games_words_with_.php

25 Tips for New Managers: http://www.greatleadershipbydan.com/2012/10/25-tips-for-new-managers.html

Pokemon‘s Secret Ingredient : http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/178527/pokemons_secret_ingredient.php

Peter Molyneux: Everything’s Changing: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/178436/peter_molyneux_everythings_.php

How to Defuse an Inbox Hand Grenade: http://eblingroup.com/2012/09/how-to-defuse-an-inbox-hand-grenade.html

Adding Asynchronicity : http://gamasutra.com/view/feature/179586/adding_asynchronicity.php

85 percent of US social players don’t come back after first day: http://www.insidesocialgames.com/2012/10/18/85-percent-of-us-social-players-dont-come-back-after-first-day/

Getting ‘anti-social’ on Facebook with Game of Thrones: Ascent: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/178605/Getting_antisocial_on_Facebook_with_Game_of_Thrones_Ascent.php#.UIFYNZZKcXI

From DICE to Danger Close: The Man Who Changed Medal of Honor : http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/180009/from_dice_to_danger_close_the_man_.php

You Have to Speak for the Work: http://eblingroup.com/2012/10/you-have-to-speak-for-the-work.html

Fire, Blood, Explosions: Prototype 2‘s Over-the-Top Effects Tech: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/169769/fire_blood_explosions_prototype_.php

Spam Me Not: Shouting above the noise in the game world: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/179777/Spam_Me_Not_Shouting_above_the_noise_in_the_game_world.php#.UIk51FFKcXI

Lessons in Launching Virtual Worlds: http://www.kzero.co.uk/blog/lessons-launching-virtual-worlds-mistake-1-marketing-budget/?goback=.gde_124702_member_177947388

The stressful life of Middle Eastern game developers and reality of their craft: http://www.polygon.com/2012/10/25/3544758/game-development-in-the-middle-east

Advertisements

True to Design: What I’m Reading

October 15, 2012 Leave a comment

Raph Koster  OGDA meeting: www.raphkoster.com/2012/09/17/ogda-meeting/

Great Story, Bad Game: Should The Walking Dead Be Nodal?: http://www.whatgamesare.com/2012/09/great-story-bad-game-should-the-walking-dead-be-nodal.html

How to Use a Leadership Coach:  http://eblingroup.com/2012/09/how-to-use-a-leadership-coach.html

Inafune’s Onward March to Independence:  http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/177826/inafunes_onward_march_to_.php

Storytelling Without Stories: Writing for Infinite Replayability: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/177765/storytelling_without_stories_.php

Making a Prototype of the Future: The Development of Immercenary: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/177905/making_a_prototype_of_the_future_.php

Can Film-Inspired Project Financing Work for Games?: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/177981/can_filminspired_project_.php

What Replacement Refs Show About Leadership Confidence: http://eblingroup.com/2012/09/what-replacement-refs-show-about-leadership-confidence.html

The mixed blessing of ‘Girlfriend Mode’: http://gamasutra.com/view/news/177006/The_mixed_blessing_of_Girlfriend_Mode.php#.UFxeCZZOl8E

Six purposes non-combat pets serve: http://biobreak.wordpress.com/2012/09/21/six-purposes-non-combat-pets-serve/

How Resident Evil 6 Happens: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/178050/how_resident_evil_6_happens.php

Thornwatch: http://penny-arcade.com/2012/09/24/thornwatch1

Memorial: Composer Ryu Umemoto: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/178187/memorial_composer_ryu_umemoto.php

Deep Dungeon: Exploring the Design of Dark Souls: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/178262/deep_dungeon_exploring_the_design_.php

Seven First Year Mistakes Senior Executives Make: http://eblingroup.com/2012/09/seven-first-year-executive-mistakes.html

Closing the Door… on Closure: http://www.greatleadershipbydan.com/2012/09/closing-door-on-closure.html

10 Tips: Increasing the Effectiveness of Producers: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/178356/10_tips_increasing_the_.php

Categories: True to Design Tags: , ,