Archive

Archive for May, 2012

True to Design: What I’m Reading

Candid Words from Diablo III‘s director: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/170258/candid_words_from_diablo_iiis_.php

The 6 Passages of Leadership and Management

http://www.greatleadershipbydan.com/2012/05/6-passages-of-leadership-and-management.html

User Stories and Narrative :  http://designface.blogspot.ca/2012/05/user-stories-and-narrative.html

 

Finding Out What They Think: A Rough Primer To User Research, Part 2: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/170332/finding_out_what_they_think_a_.php

The Devil’s Workshop: An Interview with Diablo III‘s Jay Wilson: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/170258/the_devils_workshop_an_interview_.php

Swashbucklers, ships, and high seas hijinks: KingsIsle talks Pirate101: http://massively.joystiq.com/2012/05/15/swashbucklers-ships-and-high-seas-hijinks-kingsisle-talks-pir/

Gorgon Random Treasure: http://www.eldergame.com/2012/05/gorgon-random-treasure/

How Indiana Jones Adventure World‘s core game mechanics target Facebook players:

http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/169848/How_Indiana_Jones_Adventure_Worlds_core_game_mechanics_target_Facebook_players.php

Predicting Churn: Data-Mining Your Game:  http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/170472/predicting_churn_datamining_your_.php

Opinion: Embrace freemium: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/170350/Opinion_Embrace_freemium.php

3 Ways to Improve Your Positive Intelligence (PQ):

http://www.greatleadershipbydan.com/2012/05/3-ways-to-improve-your-positive.html

A Personal Journey: Jenova Chen’s Goals for Games: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/170547/a_personal_journey_jenova_chens_.php

There is a formula for getting funded on Kickstarter: http://www.techwag.com/2012/03/there-is-a-formula-for-getting-funded-on-kickstarter/

Culture Clash: How Video Games Are Crashing the Museum Party: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/170719/culture_clash_how_video_games_are_.php

Kratos’ Boss: The Studio Head of Sony Santa Monica Speaks: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/170622/kratos_boss_the_studio_head_of_.php

How to be a Damn Good Developmental Manager:

http://www.greatleadershipbydan.com/2012/05/how-to-be-damn-good-developmental.html

Persuasive Games: Process Intensity and Social Experimentation:

http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/170806/persuasive_games_process_.php

3 Ways to Show Respect for Your People: http://eblingroup.com/2012/05/3-ways-to-show-respect-for-your-people.html

Why Your Company Needs A Chief Collaboration Officer : http://www.fastcompany.com/1836468/why-your-company-needs-a-chief-collaboration-officer

Leader Or Bully? There are Consequences

http://www.greatleadershipbydan.com/2012/05/leader-or-bully-there-are-consequences.html

Leading Change – An Excerpt from Beyond Critical: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/170902/leading_change__an_excerpt_from_.php

Beyond Heavy Rain: David Cage on Interactive Narrative: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/171004/beyond_heavy_rain_david_cage_on_.php

Advertisements
Categories: True to Design Tags: , ,

Friday Friends Features: Kickstarters

Been a while but wanted to share some Kickstarters that friends of mine are doing:

Edge of Space by HandyMan Studios: http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/edgeofspace/edge-of-space

Rend by Timothy Frank: http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1829307829/rend

True to Design: What I’m Reading

Categories: True to Design Tags: , ,

True to Design: What I’m Reading

What is your Cultural Type ?:

http://davidmerzel.wordpress.com/2012/04/28/what-is-your-cultural-type/?goback=.gde_105148_member_111244687

How Creative Assembly’s Process Breeds Quality: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/169354/how_creative_assemblys_process_.php

Ask Gamasutra: Should I do a Kickstarter campaign?: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/169357/Ask_Gamasutra_Should_I_do_a_Kickstarter_campaign.php

Draw Something Uncertain: http://www.psychologyofgames.com/2012/05/draw-something-uncertain/

The Top 10 Things The Game Industry Can Learn from Film Production: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/169502/the_top_10_things_the_game_.php

The 5 Biggest Mistakes You’re Making With Work Relationships :

http://www.fastcompany.com/1834912/the-5-biggest-mistakes-youre-making-with-work-relationships

How to work with programmers. – A guide for designers: http://www.pabloruizmobiledev.com/2012/04/30/how-to-work-with-programmers-a-guide-for-designers/

« Finis ton boulot et ensuite t’auras ta bière »: http://www.minutebuzz.com/2012/04/30/finis-ton-boulot-et-ensuite-tauras-ta-biere/

How to Make a Turn-Based Strategy Game – Part 1: http://www.raywenderlich.com/12022/how-to-make-a-turn-based-strategy-game-part-1

Animating Four-Legged Beasts: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/169673/animating_fourlegged_beasts.php

The Top 5 Mistakes Leaders Make: http://www.greatleadershipbydan.com/2012/05/top-5-mistakes-leaders-make.html

7 Reasons Employers Will Hire You : http://newgradlife.blogspot.ca/2010/10/7-reasons-employers-will-hire-you.html

10 Rules for a Phenomenal Job Interview : http://newgradlife.blogspot.ca/2010/07/10-rules-for-job-interview.html

The Inclusive Design of Kim Swift: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/169778/the_inclusive_design_of_kim_swift.php

Categories: True to Design Tags: , ,